Racing WA

Vice Grip claims top dog crown

29 January 2023

There is a new top chaser in town after Vice Grip was awarded the title 2022 Greyhound of the Year after a highly successful racing season.

The Adam Smithson trained greyhound raced 26 times in 2022 for 13 wins and ten placings, securing over $380,000 in stakes.

Vice Grip ranked fifth in Australia at the end of 2022 for Group racing, which included victories in the Group 1 Perth Cup, Group 2 All Stars Sprint, Group 3 Mandurah Cup, Lew Dorsa Memorial and Spring Gift final. Vice Grip also made a further three Group 1 finals on the East Coast.

Curly, as he is known at home, amassed over $570,000 in stakes and his outstanding career is now part of WA greyhound racing history. Now retired, Vice Grip is already enjoying the down time.

Leading Trainer was awarded to Chris Halse who dominated Cannington and Mandurah with 200 wins.

Chris had runners finish in the top three at a strike rate of 48 per cent and is looking to continue his success in The Sandgroper in April.

The prestigious Gerry O’Keefe Achievement Award was presented to Barry McPherson. Barry has trained almost 2200 winners since 1987 including 2006 Greyhound of the Year Ronray Dancer.

In addition to mentoring young trainers, Barry volunteers his time to maintain the Southern River training track and fundraises for The Amanda Young Foundation through racing proceeds.

The Kerry Vernon Award for Excellence in Greyhound Welfare was awarded to Greyhound Angels of Western Australia.

The volunteer-based group has rehomed hundreds of retired greyhounds and supported Racing and Wagering Western Australia’s (RWWA) efforts in helping greyhounds make a successful transition from life in racing to life as pets.

Victoria Cook was named Young Achiever of the Year after training 47 winners in her third season. Involved with greyhounds all her life, with her parents and husband also trainers, Victoria’s deep connection to the dogs shines through on the track.

RWWA Chief Racing Officer David Hunter said he was pleased to see this year’s winners recognised for their achievements.

“The awards highlight another fantastic year of greyhound racing here in WA. I congratulate all of this evening’s nominees and award winners, and applaud them for their efforts,” David said.

The awards were held at Crown Perth on Sunday, January 29.


[caption id="attachment_17169" align="alignnone" width="300"] Vice Grip[/caption]